Democrats Elect Officers

On Saturday, March 25, 2023, the Plymouth County Democrats held their odd year caucus and biennial organizational meeting in the conference room of the Le Mars Public Library.  In addition to other organizational activities, those present elected officers to serve a two-year term.

Julie Ford, of Akron, was elected to serve as Chair; Debra Kehrberg, of Hinton, was elected to serve as Vice Chair; Mary Milder, of Le Mars, was elected to serve as Secretary; and John Hines, of Le Mars, was reelected to serve as Treasurer.

Outgoing Chair Mark Sturgeon said he was happy to see new volunteers stepping forward to serve in these positions and believes this is the first time the positions of Chair and Vice Chair were both held by women.

The group acknowledged the many years of service of outgoing Secretary Dianne “Kay” Luckett by giving her a standing ovation and presenting her with a framed copy of “The ABC’s of Democracy,” quoting from part of Democratic House Leader Hakeem Jeffries’ January 7, 2023, speech introducing incoming House Speaker Kevin McCarthy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *